Calendar of Events

Workshops

Date:
Tuesday, July 10–Friday, July 13, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
The basics of making gelatin emulsion dry plates are covered in this fun and informative emulsion workshop for beginners. 
Date:
Tuesday, July 24–Friday, July 27, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Building upon our basic gelatin emulsion workshops, this intermediate workshop takes emulsion making to the next level. 
Date:
Wednesday, August 1–Friday, August 3, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
New! The first photographic negative technique on glass, known as the Niepceotype, was also used to make the first photographic magic lantern transparencies, or hyalotypes. Albumen on glass photography was invented in 1847 and remains the highest resolution photographic process ever invented.
Date:
Monday, August 13–Friday, August 17, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Learn the two most popular printing processes of the nineteenth century: salt and albumen.
Date:
Wednesday, August 29–Friday, August 31, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Join us as we look into the earliest photographic printing processes dating from 1790 to 1841. We’ll use botanicals from the Eastman Museum gardens as well as lace, feathers, and even historic stained glass window fragments to sun print using several photographic processes invented before 1842.
Date:
Monday, September 10–Friday, September 14, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
This five-day hands-on negative workshop is for the experienced collodion ambrotypist or tintypist who wants to get to the next level.
Date:
Monday, September 24–Friday, September 28, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
This five-day course is the only public workshop in the world that teaches how to use a box camera obscura, a tent camera obscura, a camera lucida, a pantograph, and a physionotrace to produce landscape pencil drawings and cut silhouettes
Date:
Tuesday, October 16–Friday, October 19, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
New! This is an introductory workshop specifically for 20th- and 21st-century black-and-white chemical photographic technique.
Date:
Tuesday, November 6–Friday, November 9, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Learn to make your own carbon tissues using pigments available at your local art supply store or online.
Date:
Saturday, December 1, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
No photographic experience is required to attend, and you’ll leave with a 5×7″ tintype portrait made by an experienced tintypist and an information packet on how that plate was made.

Pages