Calendar of Events

Workshops

Date:
Saturday, February 10, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
No photographic experience is required to attend, and you’ll leave with a 5×7″ tintype portrait made by an experienced tintypist and an information packet on how that plate was made. 
Date:
Wednesday, March 7–Friday, March 9, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
This hands-on workshop will help you to harness the precision of digital imaging to produce negatives with your inkjet printer for a variety of your favorite historic and alternative printing processes.
Date:
Wednesday, March 21–Friday, March 23, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Guest instructor Bonny Lhotka will teach this special workshop in which participants will experiment with using digital images to make photographic objects, creating digital prints as something other than works of ink on paper. 
Date:
Wednesday, April 4–Friday, April 6, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Use your own 35mm camera (or ours) to make 35mm tintype portraits and still life images.
Date:
Wednesday, April 18–Friday, April 20, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
This workshop is offered only every other year, so we suggest you register early to secure a spot. This silver chloride printing-out paper dates to the 1860s but did not become popular until the 1890s.
Date:
Wednesday, May 2–Thursday, May 3, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
SOLD OUT! In this workshop, learn how to chemically bleach and tone the silver image, tint film stock, and apply colors in selected areas of the film frame.
Date:
Monday, May 7–Thursday, May 10, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Get hands-on experience making black-and-white 35mm perforated film stock. This workshop is scheduled so those attending the Nitrate Picture Show over the weekend (May 4–6) can stay past the festival and learn how to make film. 
Date:
Monday, May 21–Friday, May 25, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Ambrotypes and tintypes are the hottest alternative processes used in fine art photography today. In this intensive five-day workshop, participants will be guided through the basics of making these unique positive wet-collodion images.
Date:
Monday, June 4–Friday, June 8, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
SOLD OUT! Last offered four years ago, this workshop was inspired by the canal excursions held by select members of the Philadelphia Photograph Exchange Club back in the 1870s. We’ll pilot a 42-foot canal boat through step locks on the Erie Canal and tie up along the banks to take full-plate [6 ½ × 8 ½″] tintypes of the local scenery.
Date:
Monday, June 18–Friday, June 22, 2018
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
If you like camping, hiking, and large-format photography, this is the workshop for you.

Pages