Calendar of Events

Workshops

Date:
Wednesday, March 1–Friday, March 3, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Sold out! Please email photographicworkshops@eastman.org to be added to the waiting list. No longer limit yourself to just analog or just digital photography. This hands-on workshop will help you to harness the precision of digital imaging to produce negatives with your inkjet printer for a variety of your favorite historic and alternative printing processes.
Date:
Thursday, March 16–Friday, March 17, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Sold out! Please email photographicworkshops@eastman.org to be added to the waiting list. Make your own tintype portrait and still-life image in this special two-day basic workshop designed just for beginners.
Date:
Wednesday, March 29–Friday, March 31, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Sold out! Please email photographicworkshops@eastman.org to be added to the waiting list. Guest instructor Bonny Lhotka will teach this special workshop in which participants will experiment with using digital images to make photographic objects, creating digital prints as something other than works of ink on paper. 
Date:
Monday, April 17–Friday, April 21, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
This five-day hands-on negative workshop is for the experienced collodion ambrotypist or tintypist who wants to get to the next level. 
Date:
Monday, May 1–Thursday, May 4, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Sold out! Please email photographicworkshops@eastman.org to be added to the waiting list.  Get hands-on experience making black-and-white 35mm perforated film stock.  
Date:
Monday, May 8–Thursday, May 11, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Sold out! Please email photographicworkshops@eastman.org to be added to the waiting list. Get hands-on experience making black-and-white 35mm perforated film stock.
Date:
Monday, June 5–Friday, June 9, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
If you like camping, hiking, and large format photography, this is the workshop for you. The group will be guided by Nick Brandreth and Mark Osterman to make their own silver bromide gelatin emulsion in the darkroom at the George Eastman Museum. On the second day, we’ll travel to Letchworth State Park, known as the Grand Canyon of the East, and set up camp in rustic cabins in the woods.
Date:
Monday, June 19–Friday, June 23, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Ambrotypes and tintypes are the hottest alternative processes used in fine art photography today. In this intensive five-day workshop, participants will be guided through the basics of making these unique positive wet-collodion images.
Date:
Monday, July 10–Friday, July 14, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Learn the two most popular printing processes of the nineteenth century: salt and albumen.
Date:
Tuesday, July 18–Friday, July 21, 2017
Time:
All day
Location:
George Eastman Museum
Tuition: $700 / $600 members, $80 materials fee This four-day course is the only public workshop in the world that teaches how to use a box camera obscura, a tent camera obscura, a camera lucida, a pantograph, and a physionotrace to produce landscape pencil drawings and cut silhouettes. All of these pre-photographic drawing techniques are based on the manipulation of light, and they helped to reinforce the concepts that eventually led to the invention of photography.

Pages